San Carlos- Gila Co. San Carlos Indian Reservation established on Nov. 9, 1871 suffered a reduction when the Flobe Mining District was formed. Struggles among the Indians and the military ensued. Indian agent John Clum gave sheep, cows and burros to the Indians hoping to keep them busy and avoid attacks. The post office opened on Oct. 22, 1875. Coolidge Dam backs up the Gila River and forms San Carlos Lake. The dam has unique multiple dome construction.
|Previous||1 of 2||Next|