Skip to main content
A service of Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, a division of the Secretary of State. Arizona Memory Project

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Browsing items in: Views of Old Morenci and Metcalf

(25 results)



Display: 20

    • Morenci, 1892

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The Detroit Copper Company smelter is visible in the right of this photo, the 2nd smelter built in the area. The first smelter was built in 1880 on the San Francisco River, 5 - 6 miles from Morenci. In 1881, William Church went to New York City...
    • Morenci, 1918

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The building on the right is the Detroit Copper Company smelter. The wooden trestle between the machine shop and the smelter is the 5th Loop of the Morenci Southern Railroad which ran from Guthrie 18 miles into Morenci. The train depot was in...
    • New Town

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • New Town was built after the fire of 1897 which destroyed all the gambling halls and saloons in Morenci. Paul Becker owned this land and he encouraged saloons and gambling hall owners to lease land from him for their businesses. New Town was just...
    • Arizona Central

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • Detroit Copper Company Hospital built in Fairplay on the west side of Morenci. The headframe to the right was Arizona Central's from which ore was loaded into a 20-inch guage locomotive and hauled to a smelter.
    • Morenci Hotel, 1940

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The Morenci Hotel was built and completed in the fall of 1903 at a cost of $25,000. It had 2 dining rooms and 22 guest rooms. The building on the left is the Longfellow Grade School, built in 1902 and torn down in 1965 due to structural...
    • The Morenci Club

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The Morenci Club was constructed in 1902-03. The Club had a bowling alley, billiard tables, a library, a theater. In the left of this photo a train trestle is visible which belonged to the Morenci Southern Railroad. It came around to the back...
    • Detroit Copper Company Store, Morenci, AZ. 1901

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The Detroit Copper Company Store was begun in 1900 and completed construction in 1901. The Morenci Southern Railroad could bring boxcars to the side of the dock in the basement.

      Ore cars are visible in the yard (foreground). This was the...
    • Train Depot

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • Detroit Copper Company store is visible in the background. The white-roofed building was the Morenci Southern Railroad depot. Passengers cars as well as freight cars would arrive from Guthrie into this plaza.
    • Longfellow School, 1915

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The Longfellow School (also known as the Red Brick Building), built in 1902. In 1908 the roof was removed and a second floor was added. It was next door to the Morenci Club.

      Some years later, the hospital was built on the hill just to...
    • High School, Morenci, AZ

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The building in the middle of this photograph is the Morenci High School, built in 1949. The first class graduated in 1950; the last graduated in 1982. The graduation of the Class of '82 signaled the end of Old Morenci.

      To the right the...
    • Joy Shaft and Humboldt Mine. Morenci, 1930

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The headframe on the left is the Joy shaft. The mine on the right is the Humboldt mine. The mountain in the background was called "Copper Mountain." The pit engulfed the entire mountain. The track came out of the Humboldt tunnel and under the...
    • Locomotive. Morenci, 1905

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The Number 6 Baby-guage Locomotive parked in front of the Morenci Hotel, in the Plaza area.
    • Morenci Canyon, 1912

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • Looking off towards Plantsite where a plant was built in 1940-1942. The train trestle is the Number 2 Loop of the Morenci Southern Railroad that ran from Guthrie to Morenci, a total of 18 miles. The train came up through Morenci Canyon. There...
    • Metcalf, 1912

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The wooden trestle to the right of center is the Shannon Railroad which ran along the west side of Chase Creek from where the Conoco station is today through Metcalf up to the Shannon Incline. The Incline was the only way ore could be moved from...
    • Metcalf, 1920

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The white building in the left of this photograph is the Metcalf High School, built in 1918. It was used for just 3 years. In 1921 students were bussed from Metcalf to Morenci.

      The wooden trestle on the left was the Shannon Railroad...
    • Metcalf High School

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • North-facing view of the Metcalf High School located in the Coronado Gulch, which was on the west side of Chase Creek. The railroad track ran behind the school and up to the incline, the location of the Coronado open pit is today. The school was...
    • Metcalf Store, School and Incline, mid-1930's

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The building on the right is the grade school, built in 1913. The big building on the left is the Arizona Copper Company store. After the town had been pretty much abandoned both the school and the store burned down in 1941. The wooden trestle in...
    • 3B Bar General Merchandising and White Owl Hotel, 1910

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • Just about anything a miner needed in 1910 could be found within the complex of these buildings, the 3B Bar General Merchandising and White Owl Hotel and restaurant.

      Notice the group of people in the left foreground of this photo. This...
    • Chase Creek Canyon, 1910

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The train track on the left is the Shannon Railroad which ran from the north end of Metcalf to Shannon Hill. It came up out of the canyon where the Conoco station is today and went east to Shannon Hill.

      The retaining wall holding up the...
    • Metcalf Town, 1910

    • Unknown
    • Mining; Mining--Arizona;
    • The large building to the left of center in this photograph is the Arizona Copper Company store. The Coronado Railroad is visible in front of the store. In the background on the left side of the mountain above the track, the 3B Bar General...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK