Skip to main content
A service of Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, a division of the Secretary of State. Arizona Memory Project

Add or remove other collections to your search:



 

Narrow your search by:



Browsing items in:

American Flag Ranch and Acadia Ranch - The Story of Oracle's Post Offices
(103 results)



Display: 20

    • Rodeo champions!

    • Rodeo champions!
    • 1956
    • Rodeos--Arizona
    • Wilma Huggett and unidentified man, 1956 University of Arizona Rodeo Champions.
    • Rodeo royalty

    • Rodeo royalty
    • 1950 ca.
    • Rodeos--Arizona
    • Wilma Huggett (top) as Rodeo Queen with unidentified companions. Wilma was named queen of the Tucson Rodeo in the 1950s.
    • 3C Ranch

    • 3C Ranch
    • No date
    • Ranch life--Arizona--Pinal County
    • View from the 3C Ranch.
    • Cowboys

    • Cowboys
    • No date
    • Ranch life--Arizona--Pinal County
    • Unidentified cowboys and their horses.
    • Acadia post office door

    • Acadia post office door
    • 2010-11-05
    • Post office buildings--Arizona
    • Today, the Acadia Ranch is a museum and houses the Oracle Historical Society. The post office door remains inside, with a mail slot and service window.
    • Woman on horseback

    • Woman on horseback
    • 1910-01
    • Ranch life--Arizona--Pinal County
    • This is possibly Ora Ramsay, holding a rifle, overlooking Apache Peak in Oracle.
    • Behind Oracle Post Office and General Merchandise store, 1909

    • Behind Oracle Post Office and General Merchandise store, 1909
    • 1909-04-04
    • Ranch life--Arizona--Pinal County
    • This is a rear view of the Oracle Post Office and General Merchandise store. Corrals are in the foreground and tent houses stretch out to the right. In 1906 John Estil sold the store to Thomas V. McCauley, who served as Oracle's postmaster from...
    • FDR appoints Lawson

    • FDR appoints Lawson
    • 1940-03-14
    • Post Office Archives
    • This certificate, signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt and Postmaster General James A. Farley, appoints John. W. Lawson as Postmaster of Oracle. It is dated March 14, 1940.
    • Oracle Post Office mid-century

    • Oracle Post Office mid-century
    • 1959 ca.
    • Post office buildings--Arizona
    • This building was constructed in the late 1950s. The Oracle Post Office remained here until the mid-1970s.
    • Oracle Postmasters

    • Oracle Postmasters
    • 1906
    • Post Office Archives
    • These four cards document the Postmasters of Oracle through the years.
    • Oracle Post Office and General Merchandise store, circa 1908

    • Oracle Post Office and General Merchandise store, circa 1908
    • 1908 ca.
    • Post office buildings--Arizona; General stores--Arizona
    • The Oracle Post Office and General Merchandise store in 1908 or 1909. The third postmaster, John Estill, moved to Oracle from Ohio for the benefit of the health of his arthritic wife. He built a small square building to store the merchandise that...
    • American Flag Post Office in 1972

    • American Flag Post Office in 1972
    • 1972-05
    • Post office buildings--Arizona
    • The former American Flag Post Office in 1972, when it was a private residence. Elna Huggett's rosebush is blooming by the entrance.
    • American Flag Ranch corral today

    • American Flag Ranch corral today
    • 2010-11-05
    • Ranch life--Arizona--Pinal County
    • The corral in American Flag today. The American Flag Ranch and corral are now maintained by the Oracle Historical Society.
    • American Flag Post Office adobe wall

    • American Flag Post Office adobe wall
    • 2010-11-05
    • Post office buildings--Arizona
    • The American Flag Post Office is an adobe building built around 1877; it is one of the oldest surviving post office buildings in Arizona. Some of the bricks are visible.
    • American Flag Post Office historical plaque

    • American Flag Post Office historical plaque
    • 2010-11-05
    • Post office buildings--Arizona
    • The American Flag Post Office building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. This plaque is attached to the front of the building and reads: "Isaac Lorraine, discoverer of the American Flag gold and silver mine, built this...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
on off
 

Layout options:

Thumbnail with title
Grid with smaller thumbnails and more detail
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK