Skip to main content
A service of Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, a division of the Secretary of State. Arizona Memory Project

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Browsing items in: Show Low Historical Society Collection Highlights

(50 results)



Display: 20

    • Photograph of Corydon E. Cooley

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • Corydon Eliphalet Cooley came to the White Mountains around 1870. The U.S. Army hired him to help build an outpost at Camp Thomas, (later changed to Fort Apache in 1879), Apache Territory. He was a scout under Lt. Alexander O. Brodie and served as...
    • Photograph of the Show Low City Statue

    • Duvall, John D.
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • Digital Photograph of a life-sized amalgamate-bronze sculpture of two men, representing Corydon E. Cooley and Marion Clark, sitting at a table playing cards. An extra seat was provided for anyone wanting to join the game. The statue, sculpted by...
    • Photograph of Freight Wagons

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • B&W Photograph of Freight Wagons. Freighting was the occupation of many men who needed to supplement their living as subsistence farmers. Freight was hauled from Holbrook, where the railroad went through, to the stores in the communities of...
    • Photograph of William J. Flake

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • B&W Photograph of William J. Flake. After Henry Huning purchased Corydon Cooley's Ranch in 1888, he attempted to extend his empire by fencing North and East of the Show Low Valley. In 1901 the railroad contested his right to fence the open land...
    • Photograph of Cooley Ranch house

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • Located at Indian Pine, this two-story, nine-room frame ranch house was a government forage station, important telegraph office for Fort Apache and hospitality house for freighters, soldiers, diplomats and a variety of other visitors traveling...
    • Photograph of Guests at Cooley Ranch

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • B&W Photograph believed to be taken at Cooley ranch, south of Show Low in 1909. From left to right: Corydon E. Cooley, man in wagon behind Cooley is believed to be, George Smalley, a reporter for the Arizona Republican, Ernest Lewis, an...
    • Photograph of the Huning Bunkhouse

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • B&W Photograph of Henry Huning's bunkhouse, located on the west side of Show Low Creek, first sheltered the ranch hands of Cooley's Ranch. As the ranch passed from Cooley to Huning, and then from Huning to the Mormon pioneers, Willard and Emma...
    • Photograph of Niels Samuel Hansen

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • 5.5" x 7" B&W Photograph of Niels Samuel Hansen, the father of Lakeside, AZ. While living in Show Low in 1903, Niels Hansen surveyed the ditch that brought water down from Lakeside with his homemade water level instrument. The instrument used...
    • Photograph of Dr. and Mrs. Joseph Sydney Woolford

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photograph
    • Color-enhanced Portrait of Dr. Joseph Sydney and Clara Sarah Evans Woolford. Dr. Woolford was the first doctor in Apache County. Clara was a nurse when they met while working at a Northern California mining hospital. They returned to his New...
    • Dentist Tools of Dr. Joseph Sydney Woolford

    • Unknown
    • T&E for Science and Technology: Medical T&E: Pliers
    • Three steel pliers, the dental tools of Dr. Joseph Sydney Woolford, the first Apache County Physician, before Apache and Navajo Counties were divided. Joseph graduated from a Pennsylvania medical school in 1873. He first moved to Northern...
    • Photograph of Lillie and George Woolford

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photograph
    • B&W Photograph of Lillie and George Woolford taken on October 30, 1909 in Pinetop on their honeymoon. Lillie Hall Woolford met George Woolford at a dance while she was working for the B.I.A. in Whiteriver. Two young Indian girls she worked with...
    • Blacksmithing Tools:  Anvil

    • Unknown
    • Metalworking Tools and Equipment
    • 27"x11"x10" iron anvil of unknown date or origin, passed down to George Q. Matkin in 1896 by his uncle Charles Drury. George Q. learned the trade of blacksmithing from his Uncle Charles Drury
    • Photograph of Logging by Horses

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photograph
    • B&W Photograph of early logging by horses. Sawmills began operating in the White Mountains around 1880, making lumber and shingles to build houses for early settlers. Logs were first hauled by team and wagon, and then brought in by train.
    • Photograph of Early Logging Train

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • B&W Photograph of Early Logging Train. In the early days, lumbering, ranching and freighting were the only industries on the mountain. Lumbering camps owned by Southwest Forest Industries, such as Standard, sprang up into towns and then...
    • Photograph of Corydon Cooley's Gravesite

    • Duvall, John D.
    • Communication Artifact: Ceremonial Artifact: Tombstone
    • Bronze plaque set in concrete tombstone on the gravesite of Corydon E. Cooley at Fort Apache Army Cemetery in Whiteriver, White Mountain Apache Indian Reservation. The government grave marker is incorrect. The actual date of Cooley's death was...
    • Photograph of four-room school house built in 1919

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photograph
    • B&W Photograph of four-room school built in 1919 to upgrade from the old church house where school was previously held. There were three teachers, one per room, and the fourth room was used for band or orchestra. By 1926, grades included to the...
    • Photograph of Original Show Low Jail

    • Duvall, John D.
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photographic
    • Digital Photograph of original Show Low Jail, built in the 1930s by Navajo County Deputy Sheriff Ray Butler. The flat-roofed flagstone structure, approx. 7 ft x 8 ft, has one metal door with a barred-window and one small barred window opening on...
    • Photograph of The Old LDS Church

    • Unknown
    • Communication Artifact: Documentary Artifact: Print, Photograph
    • B&W Photograph of the first ward building of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, Show Low Ward. Prior to 1915, the LDS meeting place was one of the original buildings of Cooley and Huning, a barn that belonged to Bishop James C....
    • Old LDS Church Pulpit

    • Unknown
    • Building Furnishings: Furniture: Podium
    • This wooden single pedestal cabinet covered with a burgundy oil tablecloth is 30"Lx13"Wx35 1/2"H. Built about 1915, this podium served as the pulpit for the Show Low Ward of the LDS Church. The building was used not only for church meetings, but...
    • Old LDS Church Folding Chairs

    • Unknown
    • Building Furnishings: Furniture: Chair, Folding
    • Two wooden attached folding chairs some of the welcome replacements of the wooden benches that snagged clothing in the old LDS Show Low Ward. It is told of one member who habitually came in late to meetings. He entered the building talking to...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK