Skip to main content
A service of Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records, a division of the Secretary of State. Arizona Memory Project

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Browse Topic

SUBJECT

Time Period

Browsing items in: Scottsdale's History in Images

(29 results)



Display: 20

    • 1930s aerial view - Main Street & Brown Avenue

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • Forty years after its settlement in 1888, Scottsdale remained a small farming community in the desert east of the city of Phoenix. At the start of the 1930s, Scottsdale's commercial district was concentrated along Main Street and Brown Avenue,...
    • Arizona Canal, Arcadia and Camelback Road Aerial

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Canals -- Arizona -- Scottsdale
    • This aerial view shows the path of the Arizona Canal as it heads east. Although now fully developed with houses and businesses, this 1926 view shows citrus and date groves that gave the Arcadia area its cachet. Camelback Road cuts across the...
    • Brown's General Store on Main Street

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • E. O. Brown moved from Janesville, Wisconsin to Scottsdale in 1904 to help his sister-in-law Sarah Coldwell Thomas run the General Store and Post Office she had purchased from its founding owner J. L. Davis. Brown enlarged the store, which was...
    • Browns Ranch

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • Browns Ranch, also known as the Upper Ranch, was part of the sprawling, 44,000-acre DC Ranch - Browns Ranch cattle operation established by E.O. Brown and partners in 1916 and later run by his son E.E. Brown and partners. The Upper Ranch was north...
    • Camelback Inn - Mummy Mountain backdrop

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Camelback Inn
    • Jack Stewart opened Camelback Inn in December 1936, and by February 1937, despite the Great Depression, was fully booked with winter visitors. Set between Mummy and Camelback Mountains in Paradise Valley, the resort attracted Hollywood...
    • Camelback Inn Casitas and swimming pool

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Camelback Inn
    • When Jack Stewart opened the Camelback Inn in 1936, Paradise Valley was virtually unpopulated, save for a few ranches and hearty settlers. Within the first year, however, Stewart put the property and the nearby unincorporated village of Scottsdale...
    • Camelback Inn horseback riders

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Camelback Inn
    • Horseback riding was one of the most popular activities for winter visitors at the Camelback Inn near Scottsdale. Opened in 1936, it attracted a steady stream of wealthy midwesterners, many of whom decided to move to the Scottsdale area after...
    • Graves Guest Ranch

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Graves, Edward; Graves, Mary; Graves Guest Ranch
    • Edward and Mary Graves bought the Underhill property on the northwest corner of Indian School and Scottsdale Roads circa 1910, calling it Graves Guest Ranch. It catered to winter visitors as well as those who had come to the dry Arizona climate to...
    • Great Depression-Era store

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • One of only a few mercantiles, or shops, along Brown Avenue and Main Street in the unincorporated farming village of Scottsdale during the 1930s, this view shows an NRA (National Recovery Act) sign in the upper right corner of the photo. Like...
    • Harvesting Barley on Miller Ranch

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • Charles Miller bought what was once part of Chaplain Winfield Scott's ranch in 1913 and established Miller Ranch on the north side of Indian School Road between Scottsdale Road and a street eventually named for him, Miller Road. Miller and other...
    • Ingleside Inn

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Ingleside Inn
    • Ingleside Inn, built as the private Ingleside Club in 1909 by W.J. and Ralph Murphy, was the Scottsdale area's first luxury resort. Located near 60th Street and Indian School Road it featured a main building, cottages, a rough golf course and a...
    • Ingleside Inn- garden- side view

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Ingleside Inn
    • The Ingleside Inn was the Scottsdale area's first luxury resort, opened first as a private club in 1909/10 by W.J. and Ralph Murphy. This view shows the back garden and Camelback Mountain to the north. The Inn was located between Indian School...
    • Ingleside Inn- gate entrance

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Ingleside Inn
    • Ingleside Inn, the Scottsdale area's first luxury resort, opened in 1909/10 as the private Ingleside Club, a place where owners W.J. Murphy and his son Ralph could bring potential investors to their Ingleside development. Ingleside became a public...
    • Jokake Inn main building

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Jokake Inn
    • The Jokake Inn opened as a tearoom in 1926 and expanded to accommodate overnight guests in 1928. Designed by architect Robert T. Evans, husband of Jokake's founder Sylvia Evans, it was constructed using adobe bricks. The distinctive bell towers...
    • Kiami Lodge aerial view

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Graves, Edward; Graves, Mary; Graves Guest Ranch; Kiami Lodge
    • Kiami Lodge opened north of the village of Scottsdale in 1937. Muriel Oxenhandler was its first manager. It was located on Scottsdale Road, between what is today Vista and Jackrabbit Roads. It featured adobe and stucco Southwestern style...
    • Old Mission Church - Our Lady of Perpetual Help

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Churches -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • Hand-built in 1933 by volunteers from Scottsdale's Hispanic immigrant families, the Old Mission Church was originally constructed using some 14,000 adobe bricks. Prominent local architect R.T. Evans assisted with the design of the Spanish Colonial...
    • Original Scottsdale one-room wooden schoolhouse

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Education -- Arizona -- History
    • On a Sunday afternoon in 1896, the townsfolk of Scottsdale, built the town's first schoolhouse. It offered classes in the elementary grades until 1909 when a more permanent, larger brick schoolhouse was erected. The location of this first school...
    • Paradise Inn

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Paradise Inn
    • Scottsdale area architect and developer R. T. Evans built and opened The Paradise Inn ca 1944-45. Paradise Inn was located on Camelback Road,east of the Jokake Inn, a popular winter resort Evans designed for his wife to operate in 1926. The...
    • Scottsdale Ginning Company Cotton Gin

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs
    • Cotton was Scottsdale's largest cash crop from about 1913 through World War II. Cotton had become so important to Scottsdale farmers that local businessman and rancher E.O. Brown, with partners, built Scottsdale its own cotton gin circa 1920. ...
    • Scottsdale Grammar School - Little Red Schoolhouse

    • Unknown
    • Photographs -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Photography -- Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History; Scottsdale (Ariz.) -- History -- Photographs; Education -- Arizona -- History
    • Scottsdale Grammar School, also known as the Coronado School and the Little Red Schoolhouse, was built and occupied in 1909 and formally dedicated February 26, 1910. In May 1909 voters in the Scottsdale School District had approved a $5,000.00...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK