August 30th, 1937

Dr. C. J. Wilkerson

Member Arizona State Board of . lwfé%%i%f H ’% .
Naturopathic Examiners - LY e ?’ ﬁg A qy

700 N. 7th Avenue 7 SaahlaY

Tucson, Arizona Aﬁ;

e LR ATTORNEY gineay

In reply to your letter dated August 26 request-
ing our opinion as to your right to issue license to practice

Naturopathy to Dr. L. E. Polhemus of Miami, under Section 8 of
the Naturopathic Law:

~ You state that at the time of the passage of the
Naturopathic Act Dr. Polhemus was out of the State and did not
return until May 28th, 1936; that during his absence he retained
hls property and citizenship; and that on July 10, 1936, he
made application to the Board for a license, under the pro-
visions of Section 8 of the Naturopathic Law - which applica-
tion 1s still pending.

Sectlion 8, Chapter 105 of the 1935 Session Laws,
provides as follows:

"2561h. Certificate to present practitioners. Any
person of good moral character, who has practiced natur-
opathy in thls state, continuously for at least five
years immediately prior to the passage of this act, and
can prove by established records and affidavits his
actual and continuous practice for that period, shall
be entitled to a license to practlce naturopathy; pro=-
viding, however, such person shall pass a regular
examination given by the board covering the subjects
1t may assign for such examination. - Applicants for a.-
license under this section must apply within sixty days
after the date this act becomes a law, and accompany
thelr application with the fee provided for in Section
6 (2561f) of this act. . Applicants for a license under
this sectlion shall furnish the board all necessary in-
formation and affidavits necessary to enable the board
to determine the applicants right to a license under
this sectlion, but any one who fails to apply for same
within sixty days, forfeits all claims to such license.
Licenses 1ssued under the provisions of this section .
must be recorded within sixty days after issuance in

i the manner as provided for the recording of licenses

| in section 11 (2561k) of this act. If not so recorded,
i ‘ : such license shall be forfeited by the holder thereof,
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"Practitioners licensed under the prov1sions of
this section, shall, within thirty days after
said license has been properly recorded, present
same together with a fee of $3.00 to the Arizona
state board of examiners in the basic sciences

at the university of Arizona, at Tucson, and the
said board shall issue a certificate of registra-

tion in the baslc sclences without examination in

the same manner as heretofore issued to other

practitioners engaged in practice at the time of
the enactment of session laws of Arizona, 19339,
section 8, of chapter 84 (Sec. 2507h), commonly
known as the basic science law. (L. '35, c¢. 105,

Sec. 8)."

We are of the opinion that if Dr. Polhemus,

even though possessed of all other necessary requirements
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provided by the above quoted Section, 414 not meke ap-

plication within the 60-day period required, he is not

entitled to apply for a certificate under the provisions
- of sald Section 8. ,

~ Respectfully submitted,

JOE CONWAY
Attorney General

“ALBERT M. GARCIA
Assistant Attorney General -

FRAZIER

Special Assistant
Attorney General




