Attorney General

1275 WEST WASHINGTON

Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Robert R. @orhin

December 1, 1988

Ms. Patricia V. Gilbert, Chairman
Arizona Board of Pardons and Paroles
1645 West Jefferson, Suite 326
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Re: 188-124 (R87-115)
Dear Ms. Gilbert:

You have asked the following three guestions about the
effect of subsection E of A.R.S. § 31-412 ("subsection E") on
the duties of the Arizona Board of Pardons and Paroles (the

"Board") toward the victims of crimes committed by inmates
granted parole:

1. Does A.R.S. § 31-412(E) require the
Board to hold an inmate granted parole in
the Department of Corrections for a 30-day
period after the Board notifies the victim
that it will release the inmate?

2. Does A.R.S. § 31-412(E) require the
Board to use additional resources or to
conduct further investigations to identify
and locate the crime victim of the inmate's
impending release?

3. Does A.R.S. § 31-412(E) require the
Board to apply its notice regquirement
retroactively, to include victims of
inmates who committed crimes before the
date subsection (E) was enacted by the
legislature?

We conclude that subsection (E) regquires thé Board to schedule
release of inmates granted parole not less than 30 days after
notice has been sent to the last known address of the victims,
and to apply the notice requirement to all inmates granted
parole, Subsection (E) reguires the Board to send notice to the

victims most current address available in the records of the
Board.
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Subsection (E) of A.R.S. § 31-412 was enacted by Laws 1987
(1st Reg. Sess.) Ch. 113 § 2 and states as follows:

At least thirty days before releasing an
inmate on parole, the Board shall notify
the victim of the offense for which an
inmate is incarcerated or the immediate
family of the victim if the victim dies as
a result of the inmate's conduct and
inform the victim or the family of the
inmate's parole. The notice shall state
the name of the inmate to be released on
parole, the offense for which the inmate
was sentenced, the length of the sentence
and the date of admission to the custody
of the State Department of Corrections.
The notice to the victim or the victim's
immediate family shall be mailed to their
last known address,

Your first question, regarding the length of time between
granting parole and release of an inmate is answered by examining
the language of subsection (E). The actual words of a statute
are considered first when construing its meaning. See Kriz v.
Buckeye Petroleum Company, Inc., 145 Ariz., 374, 377, 701 P.2d
1182, 1185 (1985). If the words are clear and unambiguous, they
are conclusive of the statute's meaning. See Jackson v. Phoenix
Flight Productions, Inc., 145 Ariz. 242, 245, 700 P.2d 1342, 1345
(1985). The words of subsection (E) are clear and unambiguous:
"At least thirty days before releasing an inmate on parole, the
Board shall notify the victim . . . of the inmate's parole." We
believe, therefore, that subsection (E) requires the Board to
schedule release of an inmate granted parole in the State
Department of Corrections no less than 30 days after the Board
notifies the crime victim of the inmate's parole.

Your second question, whether subsection (E) reguires the
Board to use additional resources or to corduct further
investigations to identify and locate the crime victim, can also
be resolved by looking to the section's language. It provides
that notice "shall be mailed to their last khown address." The
term "last known address" has been construed by a number of
courts to mean the address the agency
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reasonably believes the person due the notice would wish it to
use, which is the most current address available in the records
of the agency. Wagner v. United States, 473 F. Supp. 276, 279
(E.D. Pa. 1979); Kennedy v. United States, 403 F. Supp. 619, 623
(W. D. Mich. 1975); State ex rel. Dispatch Printing Co. v.
Golden, 2 Ohio App. 34 364, 442 N.E.2d 114, 118 (1982). The
burden is generally on the recipient of the notice to inform the
agency of changes of address. Wagner. We believe that the
Board will fulfill its duty under subsection (E) if it mails
notice to the most current address of the victims in the records
available to the Board.

We also believe, regarding your third question, that the
Board must apply the notice requirement to include the victims

of crimes committed by inmates before the date subsection (E)
was enacted.

The Arizona Supreme Court has ruled that statutes that
detrimentally affect parole eligibility cannot be applied
retroactively to an inmate who committed a crime prior to the
statute's enactment. State v. Mendivil, 121 Ariz. 600, 602, 592
P.2d 1256, 1258 (1979). However, subsection (E) has no effect
on an inmate's eligibility for parole; it merely adds a duty
that the Board must perform before it releases an inmate on
parole. See also Berry v, State Department of Corrections, 144
Ariz., 126, 127, 696 P.2d 216 (App. 1984) (in applying parole
statute A.R.S. § 31-233(G), no rational basis existed to
distinguish among felony offenders based upon the date the
felony was committed). Therefore, the Board must apply (E)
regardless of the date the inmate committed the c¢rime for which
he is paroled.

We conclude that A.R.S. § 31-412(E) provides that the Board
may not release an inmate until at least 30 days after it has
mailed notice of the inmate's parole to the most current address
of the victims appearing in the Board's records. The notice
requirement applies to all parole decisions to include the
victims of all inmates granted parole who committed crimes
before the section was enacted. '

Sincerely,

LTI

BOB CORBIN
Attorney General
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