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RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT
STATE OF ARIZONA

RULE 1..

Admission of Attorneys.

1. Practicing attorneys of foreign jurisdictions may be ad-
mitted on motion to try any particular case.

2. A member of the bar of another state, the District of
Columbia or a territory, in good standing and in active practice
for at least three years last past, and who shall furnish a
certificate of his admission to practice in the court of last re-
sort of such state, district or territory, and that he is still in
good standing in such court, together with the recommendation
of at least one of the judges of such court of last resort, may,
in the discretion of the court, be admitted to practice on motien
made by a member of the Arizona bar.

3. A person of good moral character showing a certificate
of admission to practice by a court of record in any other state
"inder the seal of the admitting court, and who shall prove that
he has practiced law for at least ten years, and that he is of
good moral character, by his own affidavit and the affidavit of
one other person, may be admitted to practice in all the courts
of this state, upon motion.

4. All graduates in the law course of the University of Ari-
zona may be admitted to the bar of Arizona on their diplomas.

5. All other persons may be admitted and licensed to prac-
tice law in this state upon producing and filing with the court
the certificate of the State Board of Bar Examiners that the
applicant has satisfactorily passed the examination prescribed
by the rules and regulations of the board, and is a person of
good moral character.

6. All applicants for examination are required to pay $10.00
before taking the examination, and all persons admitted shall
pay $10.00 and take the oath of office before being licensed to
practice.
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RULE 1.

Original Applications.

1. When any application is made to the Supreme Court for
writs of mandamus, review, prohibition, habeas corpus, certiora-
ri, or for any prerogative writ to be issued in the exercise of
its original jurisdiction, and such application might have been
lawfully made to a lower court in the first instance, the af-
fidavit or petition, in addition to the necessary matter requisite
by the rules of law to support the application, shall also set
forth the circumstances which, in the opinion of the applicant,
render it proper that the writ should issue originally from the
appellate court to which such application is made, and not from
such lower court. The sufficiency or insufficiency of such eir-
cumstances, so set forth in that behalf will be determined by
the court in awarding or refusing the application. In case any
court, judge or other officer, or any board or other tribunal in
the discharge of duties of a publiec character, be named in the
application as respondent, the affidavit or petition shall also
disclose the name or names of the real party or parties, if any,
in interest, or whose interest would be directly affected by the
proceedings.

2. All ex parte applications for the issuance of writs in the
exercise of original jurisdiction shall be typewritten or printed
and filed with the clerk of the court, and the same shall be ac-
companied by a memorandum of points and authorities in
support of the application.

3. Upon the return day of the alternative writ, the respon-
dent may make return, either by demurrer or by answer, or by
both. If the return be by demurrer alone and the demurrer is
not sustained, the writ will be ordered to issue without leave
to answer over.

4. When an application is made for an alternative writ, an
order staying the proceedings of any court or officer, until the
return of the writ, will not be made unless due notice of the
application for the writ shall have been given to all parties
interested in the proceedings.

RULE HL

Transcripts.

1. The papers or portions of the record to be used on appeal
in a civil cause shall be such as the appellant and appellee shall
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request the clerk of the superior court to transmit, or such as
the parties shall stipulate to have transmitted, to this court, as
provided in Par. 1256 Civil Code 1913; or an agreed statement
of the case approved and sighed by the superior judge as pro-
vided in Par. 1257 Civil Code 1913. The papers or copies
of papers enumerated in Sec. 1130, Penal Code, 1913, shall con-
stitute the record upon appeal in criminal cases.

2. The appellant, in every civil cause, within thirty days
after an appeal is perfected, or record in superior court is com-
pleted, shall cause the clerk of the superior court to transmit
to the supreme court a certified copy of the minute entries, the
appeal bond or affidavit in lieu thereof, if any, together with
the papers and portions of the record specified in the notice of
the respective parties or the stipulation of parties, if any. The
record of the superior court shall be deemed completed when the
notice of appeal shall have been given and a bond or affidavit
in lieu thereof filed, and a bill of exceptions, a statement of
facts, statement of the case, or reporter’s transcript, whenever
the same may be necessary, shall have been allowed and filed.

RULE 1V.
Abstract of Record.

1. In any civil cause brought to this court on appeal, the
appellant must file in this court, within thirty days after the
filing of the record, at least five copies of an abstract of said
record, which shall contain: (a) the pleadings, original or
amended, upon which the issues were tried; (b) the findings
of fact and conclusions of law or the verdict; (¢) the judgment
or order appealed from; (d) the motion for a new trial; (e) the
minute entries of the trial court, and appeal bond or affidavit
in lieu thereof; (f) the bill of exceptions and statement of facts;
(g) such other portions of the record as may be necessary 1o
inform the court of the errors relied upon without an 1nvest1ga
tion of the record itself.

2. The abstract of record shall be chronologically arranged;
shall be prefaced with an alphabetical index of its contents,
specifying the folio of each separate paper, order, and the
testimony of each witness; and shall have a cover.

3. Unless some question is predicated upon the formal parts
of pleadings, motions, depositions, exhibits, or other papers
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filed in the trial court and made part of the record on appeal,
such formal parts shall be omitted in preparing the abstract
after once stating the venue and title of the cause, giving the
names of the parties in full, and thereafter the venue and title
may be indicated by the words “title of cause”.

(a) In the case of depositions the substance of the testi-
mony contained therein shall be reduced to narrative form, and,
unless material, notices, interrogatories, certificates of officers
taking the same, signatures of witnesses, etc, shall be omitted.

(b) In the case of deeds, mortgages, contracts, and other
exhibits, only the material parts shall be stated, and certificates
of acknowledgment and endorsements made by officers thereon
shall be omitted, except when these are material.

(¢) Endorsements made by the clerk of the trial court
showing the date of the filing of the pleadings and other papers

shall appear in the abstract by simply noting: “Filed..._..... . ,
giving the date of the filing.

(d) Exhibits, incapable of being readily incorporated into
the abstract, may be omitted, but due reference must be made
to the same in such a way as to identify them from other parts
of the record.

4, Abstracts of record shall be printed or typewritten in the
form and manner as herein required for the printing or type-
writing of briefs, so that the abstracts of record may be, when-
ever hereafter required, bound together with the briefs so as
to form a volume or volumes of uniform size.

5. Within thirty days after filing the record in the supreme
court, the appellant shall file five copies of the abstract of re-
cord and serve at least two copies of same upon the attorney
for the adverse party.

6. Within ten days after the service of the abstract of re-
cord, the adverse party may serve upon the appellant or his
attorney a written notice stating that such abstract is incor-
rect, insufficient or defective, and specifying what corrections
should be made, or what should be added in order to make the
same sufficient. Within ten days thereafter, the appellant may
correct the abstract or file a supplemental abstract containing
the additional matter specified in such notice. The appellee
may, at his option, and without motion, prepare and file such
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supplemental abstract, and costs thereof shall be taxed against
the appellant in the judgment of said court.

7. The abstract of record as filed will be treated by the
court as containing such portions of the record as the parties
deem sufficient upon which to try the assignments of error.

8. Abstracts of record not conforming to this rule may be
stricken from the files, on motion of the party affected by such
non-compliance, or by the court of its own motion,

RULE V.

Bills of Exceptions and Statements of Facts.

Bills of exceptions and statements of.- facts may be con-
solidated into one and the same paper; but in all cases the same
shall be in narrative form, tersely and succintly stated.

Whenever any objection is made to evidence or to any ques-
tion propounded to a witness, and an exception is taken to the
ruling of the trial court thereon, in every such case the ques-
tion and answer of the witness shall be inserted totidem verbis.

RULE VL

Motions.

1. All motions relating to informalities in the manner of
bringing a cause to this court; motions to dismiss for want of
jurisdiction of this court, and for such defects as defeat the
jurisdiction in the particular cause that can not be waived,
shall be in writing and a copy thereof served on opposite coun-
sel and the acknowledgement of the service or an affidavit of
service thereof, as the case may be, shall be endorsed on or
annexed to the original motion, which then shall be filed with
the clerk.

The opposing counsel shall have ten days after such service
upon him to file his objections or reply to such motion. After
the expiration of ten days from the service, the motion shall be
deemed submitted to the court for its consideration.

2. Motions dependent on facts not apparent in the record,
and of which the court can not take judicial notice, must be
supported by affidavit or other satisfactory evidence, copy of
which must be served on the opposing counsel at the time that
motion is served. The objections or reply to any motion must
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be in writing, a copy thereof served on the moving party,
together with a copy of any affidavit or other evidence filed
therewith.

3. No oral arguments will be heard on motions except in
such instances as the court may direct.

4. The clerk, upon filing a motion, shall number and note the
same in a docket to be known as the Motion Docket, together
with the name of the attorney who makes the motion and the
kind of motion made. Any answer to said motion shall be filed,
and shall in like manner be numbered and noted in the Motion
Docket, together with the name of the attorney opposing such
motion.

5. Motions for rehearing, stating the grounds, points and
authorities relied on, may be filed within fifteen days after the
decision of the court and a copy thereof served on the adverse
party, who may present objections thereto within ten days after
such service.

The motion for rehearing shall be considered without argu-
ment and no motion for rehearing shall be amended except by
leave of the court.

RULE VIIL.
Briefs and Arguments.

1. For the appellant and for the appellee there shall be filed
five copies of a brief, with the clerk of the court; and all briefs
when printed shall be in pica type on white paper in length
ten inches and in width seven inches with an unprinted margin
of one and one half inches. Typewritten briefs shall be of the
same size, plainly legible, and shall not exceed second impression
copies. All briefs shall be in pamphlet form and shall have
covers. Onme copy of each brief shall be for the use of the court
reporter.

2. Each brief shall contain, in the following order and
" separately stated:

(1) A concise statement of the case, presenting succintly
the questions involved and the manner in which they are ar-
ranged.

(2) An assignment of the errors relied upon.

(3) An argument exhibiting a clear statement of the
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points of law or facts to be discussed under each assignment of
error relied upon with a reference to the folios of the abstract
of record that are pertinent thereto and the authorities relied
upon in support thereof. Citations of authorities shall be to the
volume and page of the state reports and, where possible, shall
also include a citation to the reporters and specific cases.

3. The brief of appellee shall be of like character with that
required of the appellant except that no assignment of errors
shall be required and no statement of the case unless that pre-
sented by the appellant is deemed insufficient or is controverted.

4. Whenever an appellant is in default, the appeal may, on
motion, be dismissed, and whenever an appellee shall be in de-
fault he will not be heard except upon consent of his adversary
or by request of the court.

5. Within thirty days after the filing of the abstract of re-
cord or within 30 days after the filing of a supplemental
abstract, the appellant shall serve upon the attorney
of the opposite party at least two copies of his brief
prepared in conformity with subdivisions 1 and 2 of
this rule; and within thirty days next thereafter counsel for
the appellee shall serve upon counsel for appellant at least two
copies of his answer thereto; and within twenty days next
thereafter the eounsel for appellant shall serve upon counsel for
appellee at least two copies of his reply thereto, if one be filed,
and no further briefs shall be filed or served without leave of
the court first obtained.

6. Five copies of these briefs, when so made and served,
shall forthwith be filed with the clerk of this court.

7. 1If the appellee deem the assignments of error insufficient
or defective in form, he shall, within ten days after the service
of appellant’s brief, file and serve upon appellant or his attorney
a written notice setting forth his objections to such assign-
ments of error and any insufficiency or uncertainty therein,
and within ten days after the service of this notice, the ap-
pellant may amend such assignments of error. Any objection
to the assignments of error not specified in such notice shall
be deemed waived by the appellee. In case of failure to amend
such assignments of error, or in case the court deems the as-
signments insufficient to present the matters involved, it shall
require the appellant to file and serve supplemental brief
amending such assignments of error within such time and upon
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such terms as the court may prescribe. If the appellant fail to
file and serve such supplemental brief the court may affirm the
judgment or take such other action as justice may require.

8. If any brief, answer or reply shall not be served or filed
as herein provided the court may, on motion, strike such answer,
brief or reply from the files of the court and consider and de-
cide the cause as though such defaulting party had made no
appearance, or may in a proper case, dismiss the appeal or
writ of error for want of due prosecution.

9. In all causes where the briefs herein provided for shall
have been duly served and filed, either party will be heard
orally.—the appellant for one hour and twenty minutes and the
appellee for one hour, and no more, unless special reasons for
additional time shall be given to the court and such additional
time granted by the court before the argument begins.

RULE VIIL

Dismissal of Appeal.

1. If the transcript of the record or appellant’s abstract of
the record or brief be not filed within the time prescribed, the
appeal may be dismissed on motion, upon notice given. If the
transeript, or abstract, or brief, though not filed within the
time prescribed, be on file at the time such notice is given, that
fact shall be sufficient answer to the motion. If the appellee
shall not file his brief within the time allowed therefor, the
cause may be submitted for decision upon the motion of the
appellant, on notice thereof to appeliee.

2. If an appeal is attempted to be taken after the time
limited by law, and papers are filed in the trial court, in pur-
suance of such attempt, such purported appeal may be dis-
missed on motion of appellee, supported by certificate or af-
fidavits, or both, as provided herein. .

3. On motion to dismiss an appeal for failure to file the
transcript within the prescribed time, there shall be presented
the certificate of the clerk below, under the seal of the court,
certifying the amount or character of the judgment or order
appealed from, the date of its rendition, the fact and date of
filing of the notice of appeal, together with the fact and date
of service thereof on the adverse party, and the character and
evidence by which said service appears; the fact and date of
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filing undertaking on appeal, and that the same is in due form;
the fact and time of the.completion of the record, if one was
completed ; if there be any, the names of the attorneys for the
respective parties; and also that the appellant has received a
duly certified transcript, or that he has not requested the
clerk to certify to a correct transcript of the record, or if he has
made such a request, that he has not paid the fees therefor, if
the same have been demanded.

4. On motion to dismiss the appeal on any other ground
than the failure to file transcript within the prescribed time,
the moving papers shall consist of the certificate of the clerk
of the court below as to the matters mentioned above, or affi-
davits, or both such certificate and affidavits.

5. Copies of the moving papers shall be served with the
notice of the motion.

RULE IX
Decisions and Orders—Notice of.

When a decision is given or an order made in any cause, it
shall be the duty of the clerk to at once give notice thereof, in
writing, to the attorneys of record of the respective parties,
such notice to be given in writing by depositing in the post
office, addressed to their respective addresses, with postage
prepaid, unless the place of business or residence of such at-
torneys is unknown, when it shall be given to the respective
parties litigant.

RULE X.
Service.

1. Attorneys and guardians ad litem in the court below will
be deemed attorneys and guardians ad litem of the same parties
in this court until a substitution is made, and service of notices,
briefs, and all papers, may be made on the attorneys or guar-
dians ad litem of record in the court below, until such substitu-
tion is made and the notice thereof given to opposing counsel.

2. Service of papers in all cases must be made upon the at-
torney of record of a party if he have one, unless the place of
business or residence of such attorney is unknown, when it may
be made upon the party. Service may be made by mail when
the person making the service and the person upon whom such
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service is to be made reside in different places between which
there is a regular communication by mail. Postage in such case
must be prepaid and the time shall begin to run from the date
of the deposit in the post office. Proof of such service shall he
made by written acknowledgment of the party served or by an
affidavit of the person making the service, which proof ghall
be filed with the clerk of the court.

RULE XI1.

Diminution of Record.

For the purpose of correcting any error or defect in the
transcript, either party may suggest the same in writing, and
upon good cause being shown, obtain an order that the proper
clerk certify to this court the whole or any part of the record
required, or he may produce the same duly certified, without
such order. If the attorneys of the adverse party be absent,
or the fact of the alleged defect be disputed, the suggestion,
except when a certified copy of the omitted record is produced
at the time, must be accompanied by an affidavit showing the
existence of the defect alleged.

RULE XII.

Assignments of Error.

1. All assignmenté of errors must distinctly specify each
ground of error relied upon, and the particular ruling com-
plained of. If the particular ruling complained of has been
embodied in a motion for a new trial with other rulings or in
any motion, or in a bill of exceptions, or in a statement of facts,
or otherwise in the record, it must nevertheless be referred to
in the asignment of errors, or it will be deemd to be waived.

2. If the assignment of error be that the court overruled a
motion for a new trial, and the motion is based upon more than
“one ground, the same will not be considered as distinct and
specific by this court, unless each ground is separately and dis-
tinetly stated in the assignment of errors.

3. An objection to the ruling or action of the court below
will be deemed waived in this court unless it has been assigned
as error in the manner above provided.

4, If the assignment of error be to the giving of instruc-
tions to the jury by the lower court, the appellant must state
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wherein the instruction complained of is erroneous in its state-
ment of the law applicable to the case or to any particular fact
or facts thereof.

5. If the refusal to give an instruction asked for by the
appellant in the court below be assigned as error, the assign-
ment must state the applicability of such instruction to the
fact or facts of the case.

6. Assignments of error shall not be amended in this court.

RULE XIII.
Extension of Time.

For good cause shown, and upon notice to the adverse party,
or upon stipulation of parties, the court, or a justice thereof,
may extend the time for filing record on appeal, abstracts,
briefs and other papers. '

RULE X1V.
Withdrawal of Papers.

No paper on file with the clerk shall be taken from the court
room or office of the clerk except by order of the court or by
one of the justices; provided either party may withdraw the
transcript of the record and the testimony for the purpose of
making abstracts or briefs, upon giving a receipt therefor to the
clerk and, upon such withdrawal, may retain the same for ten
days.

RULE XV.

Service on Attorney General.

In every criminal case and in every civil case in which a
county or any state officer shall be a party, the appellant, if
the appeal is from a judgment or order favorable to the county
or officer, shall serve personally or by registered mail the
county attorney wherein judgment or order was rendered or
entered, and also the attorney general, with two copies of his
brief at the time of filing such brief in the supreme court, and
the same will not be considered until the record affirmatively
shows that said copies have been served.

RULE XVI.
Costs.

Costs shall be allowed to the successful party by the court as
follows: the amount paid to the clerk of the supreme court, the
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amount paid to the clerk of the superior court for certified
copies of the record and transmitting the same, the cost of
printing the abstract of record and briefs, and the amount
paid for the transcript of the notes of the reporter of the
superior court, and such other disbursements as may have been
made or incurred pursuant to any order of said court or agree-
ment of the parties.

RULE XVIIL
Appearance Fee.

1. In all cases of appeal in any civil action, the appellant
shall, at the time of filing the record on such appeal, pay to the
clerk of the supreme court the sum of twenty-five dollavs,
within thirty days after the filing of such record the appellee
shall pay the clerk of the supreme court the sumi of fifteen
dollars.

2. The applicant for a writ of mandamus, certiorari, quo
warranto, or other writ within the original jurisdiction of the
supreme court (except the writ of habaes corpus) shall, at the
time of filing his petition or application, pay to the clerk of the
supreme court the sum of fifteen dollars. Any person opposing
the issuance of any such writ shall pay to the clerk of the
supreme court the sum of five dollars.

3. No papers shall be filed until the sums above specified
are paid to the clerk. Upon the receipt by the clerk of the
record upon any appeal, he shall notify the appellant or his
attorney that such record has been received and will be filed
upon payment of the amount herein provided to be paid. If
such amount is not paid within thirty days after the giving of
such notice the appeal shall be deemed abandoned and the re-
cord returned to the court from which it came, and the judg-
ment may be enforced as if no appeal had been taken. If the
appellee shall neglect or fail to pay his filing fees, he shall not
be entitled to be heard. No fee shall be collected from the
state, or any county, or from the state corporation commission,
or state tax commission, or from any state or county officer in
his official capacity, who is made a party to any suit.

RULE XVIII.
Mandates.

Upon the disposition of a petition for rehearing, or if within
15 days after notice of final judgment or decree, no petition
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shall have been filed, the clerk shall as a matter of course, un-
less he is otherwise directed by the Court, issue and forward a
mandate to the clerk below; provided, however, for good cause
shown, the Court may in its diseretion direct the mandate to
issue before the expiration of 15 days. In all cases where the
judgment or order appealed from is reversed or modified, or
further proceedings are directed to be had in the Court below, a
copy of the opinion shall accompany the mandate.

RULE XIX.

Mandates from United States Supreme Court.

Upon the receipt by the clerk of this court of a mandate from
the Supreme Court of the United States, in any cause brought
to this court on appeal and taken from this court, by appeal or
writ of error or certiorari, to said supreme court it shall be the
duty of said clerk forthwith to issue, under his hand and the
seal of this court, a remittitur to the superior court of the
county in which the judgment was rendered, commanding such
court to take such action in the premises as by the mandate
shall be proper, and said remittitur shall also contain therein a
recital in haec verba of the said mandate; and all the costs
subsequent to the appeal from said superior court shall be taxed
in said remittitur.

RULE XX.

The rules herein, when not inapplicable, shall, so far as
practicable, be observed in criminal cases in appeal.

RULE XXI.

Calendar.

The calendar of the court shall be called on the second Mon-
day of January, March, May and Oc¢tober of each year, at which
time all cases then pending before the court in which all of the
briefs have been served and filed, or the time allowed therefor
has expired, will be set for hearing unless submitted to the
court by consent of the parties without oral argument. The
court may set cases at any time by stipulation of counsel for
the respective parties.
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RULE XXII.

These rules shall take effect from and after the 10th day of
October; 1921, on which day all other rules shall be considered
repealed.

Approved this 14th day of July, 1921.

HENRY D. ROSS,
Chief Justice.

A. C. BAKER,
Judge.

A. G. McALISTER.
Judge.
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